End of Term 1

This past week was my last of the first class in Copenhagen. In class we studied several interesting case studies in the auto industry, specifically the late 90s murder of the electric vehicle, the revolutionary Tata Nano, and a company named Better Place. Today was our last day, and we ended the term with a field trip to Better Place’s Hellerup location. Better Place is a company that provides infrastructure for electric vehicles specifically across Denmark and Israel. In addition to installing charging stations, Better Place is building battery replacement stations for longer trips in the time it takes to fill up a tank with gas. Our class got to drive the impressive Renault Fluence Z.E., which is so quiet, you can’t hear the difference between when it’s on and when it’s off. Evidently the New York Times published an article about Better Place a little more than a year ago. Outside of class, I wrote a someone interesting semi-research paper about stakeholder management in the tobacco industry. I chose that subject because I wanted a challenge. I was not let down.

The end of the first term means that I have a long weekend coming up. I will be spending it in Berlin! I will be sure to post a report with pictures when I return.