The past week, museums, and UEFA Victory!

by tartanindenmark

It’s been about a week since I last wrote on this blog, and that’s because I’ve been pretty busy with school work. This week, I had three projects that centered on the Swedish company Ericsson and the Danish companies Maersk and Bestseller. The projects took the form of presentations and a simulated consultant-management meeting. I can say for sure that I’ve learned lots about Nordic businesses.

I spent most of last night watching the Euro 2012 soccer tournament and hanging out with my Danish floormates. If you haven’t heard, Denmark surprisingly triumphed over the Netherlands in an unexpected upset last night! Needless to say, all of Copenhagen was delighted. Even though Denmark isn’t a soccer powerhouse, I look forward to the rest of the tournament; in fact I’m watching an exciting Italy-Spain game right now.

Earlier today, I visited two of Copenhagen’s wonderful museums: the Danish Design Center and the National Museum. The design center had a fascinating exhibit about sustainable materials that reminded me of a course I took at Carnegie Mellon. At the national museum, I learned about Danish history, from early humanoid species to today. Denmark’s history is a little bit overwhelming compared to the United States history I’m used to. The national museum had an incredible array of artifacts, particularly from Viking and medieval times.

I’m looking forward to another week of class. Perhaps I will take another trip next weekend between terms. I’ll keep you updated.

